Mint Marks and Indian Coins

Every mint uses a distinctive mark to identify that the coin was minted from the said mint. The purpose of the mint mark is more for traceability purposes. India has 4 mints with some of the mints existing before Independence. The latest mint was established at Noida in 1988.

Over the years India has also used nearly 10 overseas mints from 1985 to 2001 to mint coins due to growth in demand and lack of capacity at Indian Mints. In these years 19 types of coins were minted by these mints in different years and of denomination from 10 paise to 5 Rupees. After the expansion and modernization program undertaken at all mints today there is sufficient capacity and Noida mint regularly mints coins for other countries that need such services.

This article gives out the details of the mint mark used and how to identify these.

Indian Mints:
India as 4 mints from where coins are minted. Each mint has its own mint mark described in this section.

Mumbai Mint [Earlier Bombay]
There are 4 Mint marks associated for Mumbai Mint.

1. Diamond Under the date:
This is the most common mint mark on all Circulation coins and UNC grade NCLT.

2. “B” Under the date:
This was used on Proof Grade Coins packaged in the proof Sets.

3. “M” under the date:
As Bombay was renamed to Mumbai, the mint mark on proof coins changed to “M”.

4. The “U” mark under the date.
This was used only once by Bombay [Mumbai] mint for the 1989 Jawharlal Nehru UNC Sets coins. Meant to indiacte a UNC set Coin, the practise was not continued for future sets.

Kolkata Mint:
The mint does not use any mint mark.

Hyderabad Mint:
There are 3 Mint marks associated with the Hyderabad mint. Over the period to time, the Mint has changed its mark.
1. Star mark:
Currently the mint uses a 5 pointed “Star” as mint mark placed under the date of coin at center.

2. The Dot in Diamond Mark
This mint mark was used for a period of time in the 60's and 70's before the Star mark was adopted. Most of the Paise coins from Hyderabad mint will show this mark.

3. Split Diamond
Prior to 1967, the Hyderabad mint used a Split diamond as the mint mark.

Noida Mint:
The mint uses a thick “Dot” as the mint mark.

Foreign Mints:
Over the years India has used quite a few foreign mints to mint the definitive coins. There are no Indian commemorative coins that are minted by foreign mints. This section gives out the details of the foreign mints used by India.

Seoul Mint [South Korea]:
The mint uses a 5 pointed “Star” similar to the Hyderabad mint. The mark is below the last numeral of date.

Taegu Mind [Korea]:
The mint uses a 5 pointed “Star” similar to Hyderabad mint. However the mark is placed below the first numeral of the date.

British Royal Mint Llantrisant [UK]:
The mint uses a small Dot [Diamond]. This is placed under the first numeral of the date.

Heaton Press Mint, Birmingham [UK]:
The mint uses a decorated letter “H” as its mint mark, typically placed below the last numeral of date.


Royal Canadian Mint, Ottawa [Canada]:
The mint uses the letter “C” as mint mark below the date.

Oeschger Masdach & Co, Mexico City Mint [Mexico]:
The mint uses a mark of “M below a small o”, typically below the date.

Moscow Mint [Russia]:
The mint uses the letters “MMD” in an oval.

Kremnica Mint [Slovakia Republic]:
The mint uses the letter “MK” in circle typically under the date.

Pretoria Mint [South Africa]:
The mint uses decorated “M” typically under the date

British Royal Mint, Tower Mint, UK:
The mint uses stylish letter “U” as its mint mark.

1 comment:

  1. I am collecting republic india coins.
    Can anybody give me full list of coins minted by year and mint?
    I want only list.